Nigerians to pay 0.5% cybersecurity levy on all electronic transactions

From Monday, May 20, 2024, Nigerians will pay a cybersecurity levy for all electronic transactions, according to a directive from the Central Bank of Nigeria.

The levy, which will be equivalent to 0.5% of the transaction, will be remitted to the National Cybersecurity Fund.

Per the directive, mobile money operators, non-interest and payment service banks, commercial banks, and merchant banks have four weeks to complete system reconfigurations to enable remittance.

Meanwhile, other financial institutions, such as microfinance banks, primary mortgage banks, and development finance institutions, have eight weeks to ensure system reconfiguration.

Financial institutions that fail to remit the levy could face fines of at least 2% of their annual turnover.

Not all financial transactions are subject to this levy. Salary payments, loan disbursements and repayments, intra-bank transfers between customers of the same bank, and intra-account transfers within the same bank or between different banks but for the same customer are exempt from the levy.

Other transactions include letters of credit, Treasury bills, bonds, commercial papers, government social welfare programmes, charitable donations, tuition payments, and transactions involving educational institutions.

Related posts

IPMAN threatens closure of 30,000 filling stations

Adewale Ojo

Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia As Nigerian Education Loan Fund Chairman

Adewale Ojo

EKSG reverses removal of Osanyingbemi as chief priest

Adewale Ojo

Leave a Comment